Semester Calendar 2021-2022

Fall Semester - 2021

Event Date
First Day of Classes August 30 (Monday)
Labor Day September 6 (Monday)
Thanksgiving Recess November 24-November 28 (Wednesday-Sunday)
Last Day of Classes December 13 (Monday)
Reading Day December 14 (Tuesday)
Final Exams December 15-21 (Wednesday-Tuesday)
Commencement - Main Ceremony1 December 20 (Monday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies1 December 21-22 (Tuesday-Wednesday)

Winter Term - 2021-22

Event Date
Classes Begin January 3 (Monday)
Dr. Martin Luther King Holiday January 17 (Monday)
Classes End January 21 (Friday)

Spring Semester - 2022

Event Date
First Day of Classes January 24 (Monday)
Spring Break March 20-27 (Sunday-Sunday)
Last Day of Classes May 10 (Tuesday)
Reading Day May 11 (Wednesday)
Final Exams May 12-18 (Thursday-Wednesday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies1 May 19 (Thursday)
Commencement - Main Ceremony and College/Department Ceremonies 1 May 20 (Friday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies1 May 21 (Saturday)

Summer Term - 2022

Event Date
Sessions I and I-A Begin May 31 (Tuesday)
Session I-A Ends June 17 (Friday)
Juneteenth Holiday June 20 (Monday)
Session I-B Begins June 21 (Tuesday)
Independence Day Holiday July 4 (Monday)
Sessions I and I-B End July 8 (Friday)
Sessions II and II-C Begin July 11 (Monday)
Session II-C Ends July 29 (Friday)
Session II-D Begins August 1 (Monday)
Sessions II and II-D End August 19 (Friday)

All dates are subject to change. Updates and future academic calendars can be viewed at https://www.provost.umd.edu/calendar/.