College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences
4176 Campus Drive
William E. Kirwan Hall
Phone: 301-405-5053

The Department of Mathematics teaches a broad range of courses in modern mathematics and statistics. This translates into developing strong ability to solve problems and to apply mathematics and statistics to other areas. The program prepares students to further their mathematical education in graduate school, to teach at the secondary school level, or to work in the government or private sector.

Chair: D. Levy (Chair, Dist Scholar Teacher)

Professors: R. Balan, P. Brosnan, S. Cerrai (Assoc Chair, APT), W. Czaja, D. Dolgopyat, B. Fayad (Brin Chair), G. Forni, A. Gholampour, W. Goldman (Dist Scholar Teacher), M. Grillakis, D. Gulick (Assoc Chair, Course Staffing), A. Gumel (Brin E-Nnovate Chair), T. Haines, S. Halperin, D. Hamilton, M. Jakobson, B. Kedem (Statistics Director), L. Koralov (Assoc. Chair, Graduate Studies), P. Lahiri, M. Laskowski, D. Levy (Chair, Dist Scholar Teacher), L. Lin, M. Machedon, D. Margetis, A. Mellet, K. Melnick, R. Nochetto, N. Ramachandran, J. Ren, J. Rosenberg (Davis Prof), C. Rosendal, Y. Rubinstein, E. Slud, E. Tadmor (Dist Univ Prof), H. Tamvakis, K. Trivisa, L. Washington (Assoc Chair, Undergraduate Studies, Dist Scholar Teacher), R. Wentworth

Associate Professors: M. Cameron, D. Cristofaro-Gardiner, T. Darvas, Y. Gu, K. Ide, A. Kanigowski, V. Lyzinski, T. Saegusa, T. VonPetersdorff, C. Zickert

Assistant Professors: D. Bejleri, L. Chen, A. De Rosa, H. Nguyen, D. Ray, R. Trevino, H. Yang, B. Zhang, Y. Zhu

Principal Lecturers: R. Ebrahimian, D. Franklin, N. Manning, K. McLaren, W. Wong, J. Wyss-Gallifent 

Senior Lecturers: S. Chadwick, J. Daberkow, A. Khurana, T. Long, T. Pilachowski, H. Sahinoglu, K. Williams, A. Yashinski

Lecturers: J. Conway, S. Doboszczak, J. Fernandes, M. Griffin, D. Gunatilleka, B. Michelato, A. Nuriely, R. Rosca, T. Rowland, C. Terpos, K. Truman (Acad Advisor)

Instructors: B. Bezejouh, N. Tchetcherina, A. Wang

Affiliate Professors: R. Balu, H. Elman (Prof, Director - AMSC Program), W. Gasarch, J. Opsomer

Adjunct Professor: J. Xu

Professors Emeriti: J. Adams, W. Adams, S. Antman (Dist Univ Prof Emeritus), J. Auslander, I. Babuska (Dist Univ Prof Emeritus), J. Benedetto (Dist Scholar Teacher), K. Berg (Assoc Prof Emeritus), M. Boyle, M. Brin, J. Cohen, J. Cooper, E. Correl, J. Dancis (Assoc Prof Emeritus), G. Ehrlich, R. Ellis, J. Fey, P. Fitzpatrick, M. Freidlin (Dist Univ Prof Emeritus), H. Glaz, P. Green, G. Helzer (Assoc Prof Emeritus), R. Herb, B. Hunt, R. Johnson, H. King, W. Kirwan (Former Chancellor), D. Kueker, C. Levermore (Dist Scholar Teacher), R. Lipsman, J. Millson, U. Neri, S. Novikov (Dist Univ Prof Emeritus), J. Schafer, D. Schneider (Assoc Prof Emeritus), P. Smith (Assoc Prof Emeritus), P. Wolfe, S. Wolpert (Dist Scholar Teacher), G. Yang, J. Yorke (Dist Univ Prof Emeritus)

Visiting Faculty: S. Berhanu (Visiting Professor)

Advising for Math majors is mandatory. Students are required to sign up for an advising appointment online, beginning the week before early registration. Students who have been away more than two years may find that due to curriculum changes, the courses they have taken may no longer be adequate preparation for the courses required to complete the major. Students in this situation must meet with the Department Advisor to make appropriate plans.

Undergraduate Research Experiences

There are a variety of undergraduate research opportunities in mathematics at Maryland. For detailed information, see

Combined B.S./M.A. Program in Mathematics

The Department of Mathematics offers a combined B.S./M.A. degree program for students with exceptional ability and interest in mathematics. Students enrolled in the Combined Degree Program may count up to 9 credits of coursework taken for their undergraduate degree toward the M.A. degree as well. For further information, please see the Mathematics Department webpage:

Honors Program

The Mathematics Honors Program is designed for students showing exceptional ability and interest in mathematics. Its aim is to give a student the best possible mathematics education. A precise statement of the requirements may be found at

The department also offers a special department honors sequence, MATH340-MATH341, for promising freshmen with a strong mathematical background (including calculus). Participants in the Honors College may also enroll in special honors sections of the lower-level mathematics courses (MATH140H, MATH141H, MATH241H, MATH246H). Students in MATH340-MATH341 and the special honors sections need not be Math majors.

The Mathematics departmental honors sequence and the Honors College program are distinct, and enrollment in one does not imply acceptance in the other.

Student Societies and Professional Organizations

There are several student-run groups within the department:  the Math Club, Pi Mu Epsilon, the Actuarial Club, and Women in Math.

Awards and Recognition

Aaron Strauss Scholarships:  An award to an outstanding non-graduating math major. The recipient receives full remission of (in-state) tuition for the following academic year.

Aziz Mathematics Scholarship:  The Aziz scholarship is the department's highest award of mathematical excellence for a non-graduating math major. 

Dan Shanks Award:  An award to an undergraduate student studying computational number theory and related areas.

Dan Sweet Scholarship:  An award to a math major working on research projects in the area of Applied Harmonic Analysis.

Higginbotham Prize:  An award to an outstanding junior math major.

John and Sabrina Konter Endowed Scholarship:  An award to an undergraduate math major with an interest in applications to real world problems in business and industry.

Milton Abramowitz Award:  An award to an outstanding junior or senior Math major.

Outstanding Senior Award:  The highest departmental award to an outstanding graduating Math major.

Strauss Teaching Assistantship:  An opportunity for outstanding Math majors to work as an undergraduate teaching assistants.

For further information on awards, see